Outstanding Dedication Award

For Inspiring Advocacy in the Montessori Community

About the Award

The OMA Outstanding Dedication Award is given each spring to honor the passion and inspiration of those in our community who are deeply committed to fulfilling the mission of the OMA and whose scope of work moves beyond the classroom.


The Outstanding Dedication Award is open to any individual or group in the Oregon & SW Washington community who is fulfilling the OMA mission. The nominee need not be a member of OMA to be eligible. Montessori training is not a requirement for this award.


OMA seeks to recognize individuals or groups whose passionate advocacy for Montessori has fulfilled the OMA mission of advancing the Montessori movement. This may include but is not limited to:

  • starting new and innovative programs,
  • inspired and lifelong support to the professional development of a school or organization that supports Montessori, or
  • local, regional, national, or global efforts to make Montessori accessible to all.

We will take into consideration whether nominees have been nominated before and the diversity of nomination letters. We will also endeavor to recognize individuals and groups that may not have been recognized before by the OMA community.

Nomination and Review Process

2019 Nomination process is OPEN (March 18th – April, 19th, 2019)

To nominate yourself or another individual, please complete the Nomination Form and prepare at least three letters of support.  Nominations from fellow teachers, administrators, parents, or students are accepted. Please fill out the form even if you are nominating someone who has been nominated in years past. An external review committee of administrators and guides from local schools, and current OMA board members, will review all nominations.

Award Ceremony

The recipient of this award and the Susie Huston Memorial Award are honored at our Annual Spring Tea.  The recipient and their families, friends and colleagues are welcome and encouraged to attend this celebration, along with the Montessori Community.

OMA’s Outstanding Dedication Award is presented each year to an inspiring member of the community, or a group of individuals, whose commitment to outreach and exceptional practice is recognized by his/her peers and colleagues. This award seeks to honor and offer gratitude to the recipient for his/her outstanding work in promoting the well-being of children and fostering a community of support for parents, school communities, and Montessorians. This award is given at OMA’s Spring Tea, where recent teacher training graduates are honored and the Susie Huston Memorial Award for excellence in teaching is presented to a Montessori guide.

Award Winners

  • Maria Garcia & Nick Stocco

    2018 Tammy Ulrich

  • 2017 Maria Garcia
  • 2016 Hilary Smith
  • 2015 Cathryn Kasper, Emily Daggett, Jessica Breed, Glenn Goodfellow
  • 2014 Ingrid Anderson, Stacey Edwards Russo, Mercedes Castle
  • 2013 Ann Messick
  • 2012 Mercedes Paine-Castle
  • 2010 Jennifer Davidson
  • 2009 Merri Baehr-Whipps
  • 2008 Tammy Kennedy
  • 2007 Jude Foster
  • 2006 Corinne Burden
  • 2005 Nancy Pribnow
  • 2004 Karen Madsen-Barton
  • 2003 Mother Francine Cardew, FSE
  • 2002 Cathy Dorner and Carol Johnson
  • 2001 Bruce Marbin
  • 2000 Cathy Swan
  • 1999 Linda Davis
  • 1998 M. Shannon Helfrich
  • 1997 Margie Stangeland
  • 1996 Sue Pritzker
  • 1995 David Cannon
  • 1994 Nancy Hildick
  • 1993 Peter Davidson